The Art of (Not) Finding an Apartment at the Last Minute: The Store and Sublet Method

By John Donegan

Apartment hunting can be an exhausting endeavor. Personally, I don’t look forward to dealing
with brokers, perusing reviews online, and comparison shopping. When it comes to looking for
a new apartment, I have a penchant for procrastination and often find myself scrambling to find
a new place before my current lease runs out. Fortunately I’ve devised a system to buy myself
some time; I call it the ‘store and sublet’ method. By placing all my furniture in self-storage and
subletting a furnished apartment, I am able to successfully stall the apartment search process.

I acknowledge that this system is inherently flawed and that in a perfect world I would be able
to find a suitable apartment before my existing lease runs out; however, for those times when
worst comes to worst, I stand by my ‘store and sublet’ system. As flawed as it is, it’s better than
rushing into a new lease at a subpar apartment. Subletting, especially if it’s with friends or at a
studio apartment, can be a simple, temporary, and painless fix.

Be sure to sublet an apartment that has an internet connection because with all the extra time
you’ve afforded yourself, you can peruse those websites you didn’t have time to access before.
Padmapper, WalkScore, HireAHelper, and Craigslist are all great resources. After all, there
are many things to take into account when you’re looking for an apartment – bus routes, crime
rates, vicinity to laundromats, grocery stores, restaurants, coffee shops, nightlife, and schools –
put simply, it’s not something you want to rush into. After all, you’re probably going to be in your
new apartment for a year or two, so it’s best to take your time and find a home that you really
want.

Photo credit: Digital Sextant

___

About the Author:
John Donegan is a writer at SpareFoot, the online marketplace where you can find and reserve a self-storage unit with comparison shopping tools that show real-time availability and exclusive deals. John lives in Austin, TX and occasionally directs videos for rap artists.

